‘Diary:

UP-COMING EVENTS

As a group, “Oll an Gwella” (Cornish for “all the best”) have sung on/at most of the major entertainment stages and locations in Cornwall.  The group is available ‘for hire’ to sing (almost!) anywhere and since coming together in 2010 the choristers have supported a range of events at iconic venues such as The Eden Project, Carnglaze Caverns, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, at the Minack Theatre, at The Hall for Cornwall, Royal Cornwall Show, Boardmasters Surf & Music Festival and Falmouth International Sea-Shanty Main Stages. They have also sung at Churches, Chapels and Truro Cathedral where they have helped to raise thousands of pounds for local charities and, by travelling across the area, have brought a little fun, joy and entertainment to those living in nursing homes, sheltered accommodation and hospitals as well as schools.  They also provide entertainment for Memory Cafés, Friendship clubs, groups and circles and can even claim to have helped celebrate the opening of a new pub in Cornwall as well as entertaining at venues across the Tamar, and beyond, with visits, events and bookings at concerts, stages and Festivals in Wales and Brittany.  

Huge thanks to our hosts in Brittany for their help, support, friendship and generous receptions and smiles on our recent (October 2019) trip to celebrate our 10th Anniversary.  We hope to welcome “La Cle des Chants” from Morlaix, “Voisins Voix’in” and “Marins des Legendes” from Henvic, back to Cornwall at sometime in the near future!

Oll an Gwella, as a  group is very popular, performing more than 100 times per year. The group is in great demand with bookings stretching 18-months ahead, so please book early to avoid disappointment, especially if you have a particular date in mind.  

          Some of our immediate/forthcoming engagements:

Thu 12 Dec 7.30pm NMVC + OaG to Hotel Bristol for Newquay RNLI Carol Concert

Fri 13 Dec 7.45pm St Columb Minor Institute Club Christmas Party evening 

Sun 15 Dec 6.30pm Town Carol Service NMVC with OaG   

Tue 17 Dec 6.00pm OaG to Philiphaugh Nursing Home (St Columb Rotary Club carol evening) for anyone interested

Wed 18 Dec 2.00pm OaG to  Newquay Disabled Club 

Fri 20 Dec 12.15pm OaG to St Feock Community Lunch 

Tue 24 Dec 2.30pm NMVC to Barrowfields Hotel & 4.30pm Atlantic Hotel Christmas Eve Carol singing 

 2020

Fri 03 Jan 7.00pm NMVC 1st rehearsal at St Michael’s Church

Tue 07 Jan 7.00pm OaG to Carnon Downs Old Cornwall Society, Carnon Downs Community Hall 

Fri 10 Jan 7.00pm OaG to Walkabout Inn “Shout for St Piran”

Sat 18 Jan OaG (All day – Time TBC) – ICON Recording – Colan Church

Wed 22 Jan 2.00pm OaG to Trewoon over 60s at Trewoon Community Hall

Sun 26 Jan Federation Rehearsal

Fri 31 Jan 2.00pm OaG to Penberthy Nursing Home, Newquay

Mon 10 Feb (Time TBC) OaG to Perran Bay Nursing Home

Thu 13 Feb  2.00pm OaG to Bodmin Memory Cafe, Lanivet Community Hall

Tue 18 Feb 7.00pm NMVC Dinner at Newquay Golf Club 

Fri 21 Feb NMVC Recording for New CD St Michael’s Church

Sat 22 Feb NMVC Recording for New CD St Michael’s Church

Sun 23 Feb Federation Rehearsal