‘Diary:

UP-COMING EVENTS

As a group, “Oll an Gwella” (Cornish for “all the best”) have sung on/at most of the major entertainment stages and locations in Cornwall.  The group is available ‘for hire’ to sing (almost!) anywhere and since coming together in 2010 the choristers have supported a range of events at iconic venues such as The Eden Project, Carnglaze Caverns, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, at the Minack Theatre, at The Hall for Cornwall, Royal Cornwall Show, Boardmasters Surf & Music Festival and Falmouth International Sea-Shanty Main Stages. They have also sung at and in Churches, Chapels and Cathedrals where they have helped to raise thousands of pounds for local charities and, by travelling across the area, have brought a little fun, joy and entertainment to those living in nursing homes, sheltered accommodation and hospitals as well as schools.  They also provide entertainment for Memory Cafés, Friendship clubs, groups and circles and can even claim to have sung in a ‘pop-up pub’ and helped celebrate the opening of a new pub in Cornwall as well as entertaining at venues across the Tamar, and beyond, with visits, events and bookings at concerts, stages and Festivals in Wales and Brittany.  

Huge thanks to our recent hosts in Brittany for their help, support, friendship and generous receptions and smiles on our (October 2019) trip to celebrate our 10th Anniversary.  We hope to welcome “La Cle des Chants” from Morlaix, “Voisins Voix’in” and “Marins des Legendes” from Henvic, back to Cornwall at sometime in the near future!

As a group, Oll an Gwella is very popular, performing more than 100 times each year.  In great demand, the group has bookings stretching 18-months ahead, so please book early to avoid disappointment, especially if you have a particular date in mind.  

    Some of our immediate/forthcoming engagements (N.B. Newquay Male Voice Choir engagements – NMVC in italics, Oll an Gwella engagements – OaG in Bold):

 2020

Fri 03 Jan 7.00pm NMVC 1st rehearsal at St Michael’s Church

Tue 07 Jan 7.00pm OaG to Carnon Downs Old Cornwall Society, Carnon Downs Community Hall 

Fri 10 Jan 7.00pm OaG to Walkabout Inn “Shout for St Piran” with apologies this event is postponed to April

Sat 18 Jan OaG (All day – Time TBC) – ICON Recording – Colan Church

Wed 22 Jan 2.00pm OaG to Trewoon over 60s at Trewoon Community Hall

Sun 26 Jan Federation Rehearsal

Fri 31 Jan 2.00pm OaG to Penberthy Nursing Home, Newquay

Wed 05 (Time TBC) OaG to Perran Bay Nursing Home

Thu 13 Feb  2.00pm OaG to Bodmin Memory Cafe, Lanivet Community Hall

Tue 18 Feb 7.00pm NMVC Dinner at Newquay Golf Club 

Fri 21 Feb NMVC Recording for New CD St Michael’s Church

Sat 22 Feb NMVC Recording for New CD St Michael’s Church

Sun 23 Feb Federation Rehearsal

Sun 01-Sat 07 Mar Newquay St Piran Festival

     Sun 01 Mar OaG St Piran’s Cornish Shanty+ evening at Trevarrian Travellers Rest

     Wed 04 Mar NMVC 7.00pm St Piran’s Eve Concert at St Michael’s Church with “Sea Strings” and  “Cornwall Youth Chamber Choir”

     Thu 05 Mar 4.30 OaG St Piran’s Day “Troyll Yowynk An Kriber” Walkabout 

                                7.00pm OaG St Piran’s Day “Troyll Klub Revya” at Newquay Rowing Club

     Fri 06 Mar 4.00pm Newquay Library St Piran’s Community Tea 

                            7.00pm Griffin Inn evening St Piran’s event

     Sat 07 Mar OaG to St Piran’s Food Day Griffin Hotel 11.00-1.00pm

                            7.30pm OaG to Twinning Association St Piran’s Party

Tue 10 Mar OaG to Tregony (Des Mennear)

Thu 19-Mon 23 Mar Choir Tour to Cotswolds, Cheltenham & Gloucester

Sun 22 Mar Federation Rehearsal

Tue 31 Mar (6,30 TBC) OaG to Wedding of Aiden & Laura at Knightor Winery 

         FURTHER DATES WILL APPEAR DRECKLY – contact Rob Spowart robspowart@gmail.com if you need specific detail before dates are published on the website